Delicious Asian Food- Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon

I have been trying my hand at Asian cooking recently. I realized (the hard way) that the MOST important thing is getting authentic ingredients, so little by little I’m building up my Asian arsenal.

I think my adventures are going great!

My husband, not so much:) I think we’ve decided we have different tastes in Asian cuisine and that may be the biggest issue. Because it’s very confusing to me when I think something is delicious and he doesn’t like it.

(Enter a bad sell) This dish was one of those. I thought it was SO GOOD and my husband wasn’t a big fan. But I love ginger and sesame oil and salmon and sweetness and him? Not so much. But if you’re on my side… MAKE THIS!!! I served it alongside jasmine rice and I was thrilled to eat the leftovers the next 2 days at lunch.

Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon

From How Sweet Eats

Ingredients for Fish:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. raw salmon
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 2 T. toasted sesame oil
  • 2 T. rice vinegar
  • 2 T. brown sugar
  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves, grated
  • 1 T. freshly grated ginger
  • 1-2 T. toasted sesame seeds
  • 4 green onions, sliced

Ingredients for Sesame Honey Ginger Glaze:

  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1 t. toasted sesame oil
  • 1 t. soy sauce
  • 1/2 t. freshly grated ginger
  • 1/2 t. toasted sesame seeds

Directions:

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place a wire rack over top. Spray the rack with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl or baking dish, combine olive oil, sesame oil, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, vinegar, brown sugar and whisk well until combined. Add salmon to the dish or place everything in a ziplock bag, then refrigerate and marinate for 30 minutes.

Preheat the broiler in your oven. (Or preheat your grill, etc if you prefer to use something else.)

Remove salmon with kitchen tongs and place directly on the wire rack. Sprinkle with a little bit of salt and pepper, then place directly under the broiler. Cook for 10-12 minutes, depending on the salmon’s thickness (our’s was just about an inch thick), until opaque and easily flakable with a fork. You can flip the salmon halfway through cooking if desired.

Meanwhile, make glaze. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until smooth. Pour over salmon.

Remove fish and serve immediately, with a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds, green onions and the glaze.

About jkl

Follower of Jesus, Pastor's Wife, Cookie Baker.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Domesticity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add to the conversation...